I Wish I Liked to Cook

I really wish I liked cooking. It would make my life so much easier. I find myself putting off making dinner in hopes of an unexpected invite out (I’m not talking anywhere fancy, I could always go for some pizza) or an invite to someone’s (ahem, my boyfriend’s) house for dinner.

I can cook the basics. Canned soup, Kraft Mac and Cheese… just kidding.

But really, I can cook pasta, chicken, your typical vegetables… but beyond that, I’m useless. Every New Year’s Eve, I vow “this year I will learn how to cook!” and it never happens.

Occasionally, I’ll try something new. I made shrimp tacos about a month ago, and they were FINE, but just FINE. Nothing I ever make is great. Plus, they took me forever to make because I was so worried about messing up the recipe!

Basically, what I’m doing here is vowing to the blogosphere that I will learn how to cook. I’m going to cook simple dishes for dinner and blog about them. So, hold me to it. Please.

And, I’ll start with these recipes…

Buffalo Ranch Chicken Pasta

Stacked Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

Fettuccine Alfredo 

6 thoughts on “I Wish I Liked to Cook

  1. Cooking can be stressful, but after you get used to basic steps, it becomes really fun! My advice is to not worry too much about messing up a recipe because chances are no one will notice! Unless of course it’s something major like using salt instead of sugar. Yes, I actually did that once 🙂

  2. I can totally relate – I LOVE eating, but cooking, not so much! Years ago, when I was a cub reporter, they gave me the cooking column to write, which was quite ironic. People used to come up to me to say, I sound like I’m such a good cook. If they only had known….Good luck with it!!!

Leave a Reply

